25108132.295At the stroke of midnight on Friday 6th January 2017, history will be made as the 6th Parliament of the fourth republic dissolves to make way for the 7th Parliament of the Fourth Republic to be sworn in.

The dissolution will see some members bid farewell to the house after losing their seats in the 2016 general elections and party primaries whereas some new members are welcomed into the House after swearing-in.

The sixth Parliament of the Fourth Republic saw the outgoing NDC government hold a majority of 148 as against NPP’s 121 seats in Parliament, however, tables have turned as the incoming NPP government controls an overwhelming majority in Parliament after sweeping a lot of the seats in the general elections with 171 as against NDC’s 104 seats.

Ghana is described as a beckon of hope in Africa and this transition is seen as strengthening the democratic credentials of the country.

The swearing in ceremony of the 7th Parliament precedes the inauguration of President-elect Nana Akufo-Addo and his vice Dr Bawumia which takes place hours later on 7th January 2017

Share Button

Post Your Comments >>


The views expressed in comments published on GhanaFilla.net are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of GhanaFilla or its staff, nor do they represent the views of any entity affiliated with GhanaFilla. Comments are automatically posted; however, GhanaFilla reserves the right to take any comment down at any time. Please report any inapropriate or abusive comments to us so we can take them down.